رحاب LGBTQ

تأليف دبوس نج

تمت مراجعته من قبل Dr روث اريناس

نظرة عامة على LGBTQ Rehab

 

لقد وجدت الأبحاث أن معدل الأفراد الذين يحتاجون إلى LGBTQ Rehab والذين يعانون من تعاطي المخدرات والإدمان أعلى من غير الأعضاء. يواجه الأفراد في مجتمع LGBTQ ظروفًا فريدة لا يواجهها الآخرون خارجها. يتعامل أعضاء LGBTQ مع الأصدقاء والعائلة ومعظم المجتمع لا يقبلون أنماط حياتهم.

 

رهاب المثلية الداخلية وكراهية الذات ، يؤثران سلبًا على صحة الشخص العقلية ، مما يؤدي إلى الإدمان بسبب الحاجة الاندفاعية إلى تهدئة نفسه من خلال المخدرات والكحول11.Rl Moody و TJ Starks و C. Grov و JT Parsons ورهاب المثليين الداخلي وتعاطي المخدرات في مجموعة وطنية من الرجال المثليين وثنائيي الجنس: فحص الاكتئاب والقلق الجنسي والتعلق بمجتمع المثليين كعوامل وسيطة - PMC و PubMed Central (PMC) ) .؛ تم الاسترجاع في 29 سبتمبر 2022 من https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5726951/.

 

عندما يتم تعليم الأفراد الخوف من الجنس وجعلهم يعتقدون أن حياتهم الجنسية خاطئة ، فمن المنطقي أن يوجه الشخص نفسه إلى المخدرات والكحول بغرض تخدير أنفسهم أو لتقليل الخوف المتزايد.

 

مجتمع LGBTQ أكثر عرضة للإدمان بمقدار الضعف مقارنة بغير أفراد المجتمع. تحدث الأسباب الكامنة التي تمكن من حدوث تعاطي المخدرات22.DM Frost و IH Meyer ، رهاب المثلية الداخلية ونوعية العلاقة بين المثليين والمثليين وثنائيي الجنس - PMC، PubMed Central (PMC) .؛ تم الاسترجاع في 29 سبتمبر 2022 من https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2678796/.

 

يواجه الأفراد أيضًا مشكلات أخرى بما في ذلك الصدمات والعنف والمضايقات وسوء المعاملة من الأشخاص داخل وخارج مجتمع LGBTQ. لمساعدة هؤلاء الأفراد ، تم افتتاح مراكز إعادة تأهيل LGBTQ ومراكز العلاج الصديقة للمثليين لتقديم علاج تعاطي المخدرات. يمكن للضيوف في LGBTQ rehab الحصول أيضًا على مساعدة متخصصة في الاضطرابات المتزامنة.

 

تحسين تجربة LGBTQ Rehab

 

يمكن أن تكون رحاب مخيفة بالنسبة لأفراد مجتمع الميم لحضورها. يمكن للأفراد الشعور بالخجل وعدم الأمان وعدم الاحترام من خلال الذهاب إلى مراكز إعادة التأهيل غير الصديقة للمثليين. كثير من الأفراد لا يطلبون المساعدة الطبية اللازمة بسبب التحديات التي يطرحها المجتمع الطبي. في كثير من الأحيان ، يتم الحكم على أعضاء مجتمع LGBTQ ويتم تطوير التحيز. على مدى العقدين الماضيين ، أدى تغيير المواقف إلى تحسين تجربة الرعاية الصحية لأعضاء مجتمع الميم. الآن ، يمكن للأفراد الحصول على المساعدة اللازمة لإنهاء إدمان الكحول والمخدرات.

 

لقد تغيرت مراكز إعادة التأهيل في جميع أنحاء العالم وأصبح العديد منها الآن صديقًا لمجتمع الميم. نشأت العديد من المرافق الجديدة للتركيز بشكل صارم على مساعدة أعضاء مجتمعات المثليين والمثليات والمتحولين جنسياً.

 

LGBTQI + الرحاب

 

عند علاج مجموعة واسعة من اضطرابات الكحول والمخدرات واضطرابات الأكل والأمراض العقلية المتزامنة لدى سكان مجتمع الميم ، تقدم العديد من مراكز العلاج فلسفة علاجية متكاملة تستخدم مجموعة متنوعة من الأساليب العلاجية للرعاية الشخصية. تشمل العلاجات التثقيف الغذائي واللياقة البدنية وعلاج الجسم والتدليك والأساليب الشاملة والنماذج القائمة على الأدلة.

 

رحاب LGBTQ الخاصة

 

من الخيارات الشائعة بشكل متزايد لمجتمع LGBTQ إعادة التأهيل الخاصة ، وبينما لا يتم اختبار عنصر العلاج الجماعي ، فإنه بالتأكيد خيار جيد لأولئك في الخدمة العامة والقوات المسلحة والأفراد الخاضعين لتدقيق إعلامي مكثف. هناك ببساطة بعض العناصر التي لا يمكن مشاركتها مع المجتمع الأوسع خوفًا من تسربها إلى المجال العام.

 

يمكن لعيادات إعادة التأهيل الخاصة بالعميل الفردي للسحاقيات ، والمثليين ، ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ، والمتحولين جنسيًا (أو الاستجواب في بعض الأحيان) مثل Remedy Wellbeing ™ إنشاء أفضل فريق مخصص من خبراء LGBTQ عالميًا لكل عميل على حدة. تقديم رعاية هادفة وفعالة لإنهاء دورة الإدمان بأكبر فرصة للتعافي والشفاء على المدى الطويل.

لماذا تعتبر LGBTQ Rehab مهمة؟

 

يمكن أن تكون عمليات إعادة التأهيل التقليدية متحيزة ولها آراء سلبية عن الأشخاص من المثليات والمثليين ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغايري الهوية الجنسية والمثليين (أو الاستجواب في بعض الأحيان). هذا يمكن أن يؤدي إلى التمييز من مرافق إعادة التأهيل والعملاء الآخرين في العيادة.

 

تشمل العوامل التي تؤدي إلى إساءة استخدام المواد بين أفراد مجتمع LGBTQ ما يلي:

 

  • الاستبعاد من الفئات الاجتماعية
  • الاستبعاد من العلاقات والأنشطة مع العائلة و / أو الأصدقاء
  • الإساءة الجسدية و / أو العقلية من قبل أفراد الأسرة والأصدقاء والأحباء والشركاء
  • الرفض من قبل العائلة والأصدقاء
  • الرفض من قبل المجتمع الروحي
  • فقدان الوظيفة أو حضانة الأطفال أو التمييز العام
  • العنف بسبب التوجه الجنسي أو تحديد الجنس
  • التمييز الجنسي مقترنًا بالتمييز بين الجنسين والعرق والدين

 

من الشائع أن يعاني أفراد مجتمع LGBTQ من أشكال متعددة من التمييز. يمكن أن تؤدي المشكلات المشتركة التي يواجهونها إلى مشاكل خطيرة في تعاطي المخدرات واضطرابات نفسية متزامنة.

 

العثور على LGBTQ Rehab

 

نظرًا لخصوصيات كل فرد من مجتمع LGBTQI + والمشكلات التي يواجهونها ، فقد لا يتم تلبية متطلبات إعادة التأهيل. قد لا يرغب الأفراد في طلب المساعدة إذا لم يشعروا أن العلاج يمكن أن يعالج مشكلاتهم المحددة.

 

هناك عدد متزايد من مراكز إعادة التأهيل LGBTQ + التي يمكنها التعامل مع المشكلات التي يواجهها أعضاء مجتمع LGBTQ +. يمكن أن تعالج رحاب مشاكل تعاطي المخدرات التي يواجهها الأفراد جنبًا إلى جنب مع التعرف على مشاكل الصحة العقلية المتزامنة التي تتفاقم وعلاجها.

 

قد تكون إعادة تأهيل LGBTQ مفهومًا جديدًا ، لكن لا ينبغي فعل ذلك. يجب أن يحصل الأفراد على الرعاية التي يستحقونها دائمًا دون التحيز والدلالات السلبية الموجودة. لحسن الحظ ، يمكن للأفراد الآن الحصول على المساعدة التي يبحثون عنها.

 

الحصول على الرصين كشخص يحدد هوية LGBTQ

 

بالنسبة لمعظم الناس ، فإن التعقل عملية طويلة وصعبة. بالنسبة للأشخاص المثليين ، يمكن أن تكون هذه العملية صعبة بشكل خاص: فقد يواجهون صراعات إضافية مثل التمييز ورهاب المثلية. لكن لا يزال الكثيرون يطلبون المساعدة لإدمانهم لأن الاعتماد على المواد الكيميائية هو أحد التحديات التي يجب على الجميع التعامل معها في الحياة. يهدف الموظفون في مراكز إعادة التأهيل LGBTQ إلى تقديم الدعم خلال جميع مراحل التعافي من الكحول والمخدرات من خلال خلق مساحة آمنة. في هذه المرافق ، ستجد معالجين نفسيين يقدمون علاجًا فرديًا وجماعيًا ومعالجين ودودين من مجتمع الميم.

 

مع نمو إعادة تأهيل LGBTQ ، يتم تمثيل مجتمع LGBTQ بشكل أفضل في برامج الاستشارة والعلاج. الهدف من علاج إدمان LGBTQ هو مساعدتك في التعرف ليس فقط على سلوك الإدمان الخاص بك ولكن أيضًا كيفية ارتباطه بجوانب أخرى من نفسك. توفر معظم مراكز إعادة التأهيل LGBTQ ثروة من الخدمات المختلفة بما في ذلك التثقيف النفسي لإدمان LGBTQ ، والعلاجات الجماعية ، وتقنيات اليقظة ، والجلسات الفردية مع مستشار أو معالج ، ومجموعات دعم الهوية الجنسية ، ومجموعات LGBTQ الجنسية ، ودروس الفن والأنشطة البدنية مثل اليوغا أو الجري.

 

إحصائيات إدمان LGBTQ

 

يمكن أن يؤدي الاعتماد على المواد الكيميائية لدى أفراد مجتمع الميم إلى مجموعة متنوعة من مشاكل الصحة العقلية بالإضافة إلى تعاطي الكحول والمخدرات. في الواقع ، العديد من عوامل الخطر للإدمان موجودة في أفراد مجتمع الميم. من المرجح أن يعاني الأشخاص المثليون من مشاكل الاكتئاب والقلق وتدني احترام الذات من عامة الناس. تظهر إحصاءات المخدرات LGBTQ أن شباب LGBTQ معرضون بشكل أكبر لتجربة المخدرات أو الكحول.

إحصاءات تعاطي المخدرات LGBTQ

 

في حين أن الاعتماد على المواد الكيميائية يمكن أن يؤثر على أي شخص ، فإن الأشخاص من مجتمع الميم أكثر عرضة لاستخدام أو تعاطي المخدرات والكحول لأسباب مختلفة عن أقرانهم من جنسين مختلفين. تشير بعض الدراسات إلى أن الأفراد LGBTQ أكثر عرضة بثلاث مرات لتجربة الاعتماد على المواد من عامة السكان. تظهر دراسات أخرى أن مجموعات معينة من أفراد مجتمع الميم - الرجال المثليين على وجه الخصوص - هم أكثر عرضة للإدمان أربع مرات مقارنة بنظرائهم من جنسين مختلفين.

 

الاعتماد على المواد الكيميائية هو حاجة قهرية لتناول المخدرات أو الشراب على الرغم من أي عواقب سلبية على حياة الفرد وعائلته وأصدقائه ومهنته. وفقًا لـ (مراكز السيطرة على الأمراض) ، تشير إحصائيات تعاطي المخدرات LGBTQ إلى أن الأشخاص LGBTQ هم أكثر عرضة لاستخدام المواد الأفيونية والنشوة والمهدئات والكحول من عامة السكان.

 

التبعية ليست مشكلة LGBTQ فحسب ، بل هي مشكلة تتعلق بعدم المساواة الاجتماعية. إن عدم المساواة في LGBTQ له آثار سلبية على الصحة العقلية والرفاهية الجسدية للأشخاص لأنه يحد من الفرص الاقتصادية لهم من خلال رفض تغطية الرعاية الصحية أو حماية العمل. تُظهر إحصاءات المخدرات الخاصة بـ LGBTQ أن 13 ولاية فقط في جميع أنحاء البلاد تقدم قوانين تحظر شركات التأمين من الاستبعاد على أساس التوجه الجنسي أو الهوية الجنسية.

 

ذكرت إدارة تعاطي المخدرات والصحة العقلية (SAMHSA) أن مجتمع LGBTQ ممثل بشكل مفرط في معظم فئات تعاطي المخدرات مقارنة بنسبتهم في عموم السكان. تُظهر إحصائيات عقاقير LGBTQ أن 6 ٪ من المثليات والمثليين تم تصنيفهم على أنهم يعانون من ضائقة نفسية خطيرة (SPD). كان طلاب LGBTQ أكثر عرضة بنسبة 7 ٪ لإجبارهم على الجماع ، وأفاد الأشخاص LGBTQ الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 12 و 17 عامًا الذين أُجبروا على الجماع عن مستويات أعلى بكثير من استخدام الإهانات المضادة لـ LGBTQ في المدرسة ، وشرب الكحول وتعاطي التبغ مقارنة مع عدم مشاركة شباب LGBTQ في مثل هذه الأعمال.

 

تظهر إحصاءات المخدرات LGBTQ أن شباب LGBTQ معرضون لخطر كبير لتعاطي المخدرات بسبب زيادة التعرض للضغوط البيئية. قد يكون المراهقون من LGBTQ أكثر عرضة للخطر لأن طلاب LGBTQ لديهم احتمالية أكبر للتعرض للمخدرات أو الكحول كآلية للتكيف.

 

الحاجة إلى المزيد من مراكز علاج LGBTQ

 

يعد الكشف عن جذر الاعتماد على المواد الكيميائية في مجتمعنا أمرًا معقدًا لأنه يتضمن فهم كيفية تأثير عدم المساواة الاجتماعية على حياة الناس ورفاههم. على سبيل المثال ، العنف الهيكلي هو التعرض المستمر للهيمنة التي تمنع الناس من تحقيق إمكاناتهم الكاملة. من المرجح أن يتعرض أفراد مجتمع الميم أكثر من المغايرين للعنف الهيكلي بسبب التمييز القانوني ضدهم والمضايقات والتفاوتات في تغطية الرعاية الصحية ، والتي يمكن أن تؤدي ببعضهم إلى اللجوء إلى المواد أو غيرها من أشكال التدمير الذاتي أو العلاج الذاتي. قد تتسبب هذه المشكلات في وقوع أفراد مجتمع الميم في شرك الإدمان.

 

LGBTQ عدم المساواة والعنف

 

يتمتع مجتمع المثليين بتاريخ طويل من التعرض للتمييز والعنف والمضايقات الأخرى حتى قبل وباء الإيدز. أدى تعرض مجتمع LGBTQ للعنف البنيوي إلى اعتقاد العديد من أفراد مجتمع LGBTQ بأنهم "أقل من" الآخرين ، مما يؤدي إلى تدني احترام الذات الذي يمكن أن يؤدي إلى آليات مواجهة سلبية مثل تعاطي الكحول أو المخدرات.

 

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يعاني أفراد مجتمع الميم من معدلات عالية من العنف بين الأشخاص لأن ميولهم الجنسية أو هويتهم الجنسية غالبًا ما تكون مستهدفة من قبل الجناة. وفقًا لإحصائيات المخدرات LGBTQ ، تظهر الأبحاث أن الأزواج من نفس الجنس يعانون من معدلات أعلى من العنف المنزلي مقارنة بالأزواج من الجنس الآخر. من المرجح أن يتعرض المراهقون من مجتمع الميم للعنف وسوء المعاملة وسوء المعاملة في المدرسة الثانوية أكثر من أقرانهم من مجتمع الميم. يعاني المراهقون من مجتمع الميم الذين يبلغون عن مثل هذا العنف من الصدمات التي يمكن أن تعيقهم عن تحقيق النجاح في. تشير إحصائيات إدمان LGBTQ إلى أن طلاب LGBTQ يواجهون مستويات أعلى من التنمر والمضايقة في المدرسة مقارنة بالطلاب من غير LGBTQ.

 

الإدمان والوقاية من LGBTQ

 

الإدمان هو تبعية قهرية خارجة عن السيطرة على الكحول أو المخدرات عندما يصل تعاطي الفرد إلى المستوى عندما يبدأ في التسبب في ضرر في حياته ، بما في ذلك المشاكل الأسرية والقضايا المالية والمشاكل القانونية ومشاكل أداء العمل بسبب ضعف القدرة على وظيفة. يمكن أن تكون العوامل التي تدفع أفراد مجتمع الميم إلى الإدمان تحديات داخلية وخارجية تتعلق بهوية مجتمع الميم. غالبًا ما يعاني أفراد مجتمع الميم من ضغوطات مثل الوصمة الاجتماعية المحيطة بميولهم الجنسية أو الهوية الجنسية التي يمكن أن تدفعهم إلى استخدام المواد أو الانخراط في سلوكيات محفوفة بالمخاطر أخرى.

 

تجارب الطفولة المعاكسة لمجتمع الميم (ACES)

 

التجارب السلبية المبكرة - مثل الاعتداء الجسدي والعاطفي والجنسي في المنزل ؛ فقدان أحد الوالدين بسبب الوفاة أو الطلاق أو القطيعة ؛ المرض العقلي للوالدين. الاعتماد على المواد المنزلية ؛ العنف خارج المنزل ؛ والعقوبة القاسية - من عوامل الخطر للاعتماد على المواد الكيميائية في وقت لاحق في الحياة. الأفراد LGBTQ الذين لديهم تاريخ من الاعتداء الجنسي في مرحلة الطفولة معرضون لخطر أكبر من غيرهم لتطوير الإدمان.

 

تشارك إحصاءات المخدرات LGBTQ أن الأشخاص المثليين الذين لديهم تاريخ من الاعتداء الجنسي أو الاعتداء الجسدي هم أكثر عرضة لاستخدام المواد ، غالبًا بجرعات عالية. طلاب LGBTQ ، وخاصة طلاب LGBTQ الملونين ، الذين يبلغون عن التنمر قد يكونون أيضًا أكثر عرضة لسوء استخدام المواد من المراهقين LGBTQ الذين لا يتعرضون للمضايقات.

 

السابق: رحاب الإناث فقط

التالى: ما هي مراحل الرحاب

  • 1
    1.Rl Moody و TJ Starks و C. Grov و JT Parsons ورهاب المثليين الداخلي وتعاطي المخدرات في مجموعة وطنية من الرجال المثليين وثنائيي الجنس: فحص الاكتئاب والقلق الجنسي والتعلق بمجتمع المثليين كعوامل وسيطة - PMC و PubMed Central (PMC) ) .؛ تم الاسترجاع في 29 سبتمبر 2022 من https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5726951/
  • 2
    2.DM Frost و IH Meyer ، رهاب المثلية الداخلية ونوعية العلاقة بين المثليين والمثليين وثنائيي الجنس - PMC، PubMed Central (PMC) .؛ تم الاسترجاع في 29 سبتمبر 2022 من https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2678796/
الموقع الإلكتروني | + المشاركات

ألكسندر بنتلي هو الرئيس التنفيذي لمجلة Worlds Best Rehab Magazine ™ بالإضافة إلى المؤسس والرائد وراء Remedy Wellbeing Hotels & Retreats and Tripnotherapy ™ ، التي تتبنى المستحضرات الصيدلانية الحيوية "NextGen" لعلاج الإرهاق والإدمان والاكتئاب والقلق والقلق النفسي.

تحت قيادته كرئيس تنفيذي ، حصلت Remedy Wellbeing Hotels ™ على وسام الفائز العام: International Wellness Hotel لعام 2022 من International Rehabs. نظرًا لعمله المذهل ، فإن المنتجعات الفندقية الفاخرة الفردية هي أول مراكز صحية حصرية في العالم تزيد قيمتها عن مليون دولار وتوفر ملاذًا للأفراد والعائلات الذين يحتاجون إلى تقدير مطلق مثل المشاهير والرياضيين والمديرين التنفيذيين وحقوق الملكية ورجال الأعمال وأولئك الذين يخضعون لتدقيق إعلامي مكثف .

نحن نسعى جاهدين لتوفير أحدث المعلومات وأكثرها دقة على الويب حتى يتمكن القراء من اتخاذ قرارات مستنيرة بشأن الرعاية الصحية الخاصة بهم. ملكنا خبراء الموضوع متخصصون في علاج الإدمان والرعاية الصحية السلوكية. نحن اتبع إرشادات صارمة عند التحقق من صحة المعلومات واستخدام مصادر موثوقة فقط عند الاستشهاد بالإحصاءات والمعلومات الطبية. ابحث عن الشارة أفضل رحاب في العالم في مقالاتنا للحصول على أحدث المعلومات وأكثرها دقة. في مقالاتنا للحصول على أحدث المعلومات وأكثرها دقة. إذا كنت تشعر أن أيًا من المحتوى الخاص بنا غير دقيق أو قديم ، فيرجى إخبارنا عبر موقعنا الاتصال الصفحة

إخلاء المسؤولية: نستخدم المحتوى القائم على الحقائق وننشر المواد التي يتم البحث عنها واقتباسها وتحريرها ومراجعتها بواسطة متخصصين. لا يُقصد من المعلومات التي ننشرها أن تكون بديلاً عن الاستشارة الطبية المتخصصة أو التشخيص أو العلاج. لا ينبغي استخدامه بدلاً من نصيحة طبيبك أو مقدم رعاية صحية مؤهل آخر. في حالة الطوارئ الطبية ، اتصل بخدمات الطوارئ على الفور.

Worlds Best Rehab هو مصدر مستقل تابع لجهة خارجية. لا تصادق على أي مقدم علاج معين ولا تضمن جودة خدمات العلاج لمقدمي الخدمات المميزين.

LGBTQ Rehab

LGBTQ Rehab

Authored by Pin Ng

Edited by Hugh Soames

Reviewed by Dr Ruth Arenas

[popup_anything id="15369"]

LGBTQ Rehab Overview

 

Research has found that the rate of individuals requiring LGBTQ Rehab suffering from substance misuse and addiction are higher than non-members. Individuals in the LGBTQ community face unique circumstances that others outside of it do not. LGBTQ members deal with friends, family, and most of society not accepting their lifestyles.

 

Internalized homophobia and self-loathing, negatively affects a person’s mental health, leading to addiction due to the impulsive need to calm themselves through drugs and alcohol11.R. L. Moody, T. J. Starks, C. Grov and J. T. Parsons, Internalized Homophobia and Drug Use in a National Cohort of Gay and Bisexual Men: Examining Depression, Sexual Anxiety, and Gay Community Attachment as Mediating Factors – PMC, PubMed Central (PMC).; Retrieved September 29, 2022, from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5726951/.

 

When individuals have been taught to fear sex and made to believe their sexuality is wrong, it would make sense for a person would direct themselves to drugs and alcohol for the purpose of numbing themselves or to decrease the heightening fear.

 

The LGBTQ community is twice as likely to develop addiction compared to non-members of the population. Underlying reasons occur that enable substance abuse to occur22.D. M. Frost and I. H. Meyer, Internalized Homophobia and Relationship Quality among Lesbians, Gay Men, and Bisexuals – PMC, PubMed Central (PMC).; Retrieved September 29, 2022, from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2678796/.

 

Individuals also face other issues including trauma, violence and harassment, and abuse from people inside and outside the LGBTQ community. To help these individuals, LGBTQ rehab and gay-friendly treatment centers have opened to provide substance misuse treatment. Guests at LGBTQ rehab can also receive specialized help with co-occurring disorders.

 

Improving LGBTQ Rehab Experience

 

Rehab can be frightening for LGBTQ population members to attend. Individuals can feel shame, unsafe, and disrespected by attending rehab centers that are not gay-friendly. Many individuals do not seek the medical help needed due to the challenges presented by the medical community. Too often, members of the LGBTQ community are judged and bias are developed. Over the last two decades, shifting attitudes have improved the healthcare experience for LGBTQ members. Now, individuals can get the help needed to end alcohol and drug addiction.

 

Rehab centers have changed around the world and many are now LGBTQ-friendly. Many new facilities have sprung up to strictly focus on helping members of the gay, lesbian, and transgendered communities.

 

LGBTQI+ Rehab

 

When treating a wide range of alcohol and substance disorders, eating disorders and simultaneous mental illnesses in LGBTQ residents, many treatment centers offer an integrated treatment philosophy that uses a variety of therapeutic methods for personalized care. The therapies include nutrition education, fitness, body and massage therapy, holistic methods and evidence-based models.

 

Private LGBTQ Rehab

 

An increasingly popular option for the LGBTQ community is private rehab, and whilst the group element of therapy is not experienced it is certainly a good option for those in public service, the armed forces and individuals subject to intense media scrutiny. There are simply some elements that cannot be shared with the wider community for fear of it leaking to the public domain.

 

Single client lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer (or sometimes questioning) rehab clinics such as Remedy Wellbeing™ are able to create the best bespoke team of world class LGBTQ experts for each individual client. Delivering targeted and effective care to end the cycle of addiction with the greatest chance of long term recovery and remission.

Why is LGBTQ Rehab important?

 

Traditional rehabs can be bias and have negative views of people in the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer (or sometimes questioning) population. This can lead to discrimination from rehab facilities and other clients at the clinic.

 

Factors that lead to substance misuse among members of the LGBTQ population include:

 

  • Exclusion from social groups
  • Exclusion from relationships and activities with family and/or friends
  • Physical and/or mental abuse by family members, friends, loved ones, and partners
  • Rejection by family and friends
  • Rejection by spiritual community
  • Loss of job, child custody, or public discrimination
  • Violence due to sexual orientation or gender identification
  • Sexuality discrimination combined with gender, race, and religion discrimination

 

It is common for members of the LGBTQ community to suffer multiple forms of discrimination. The combined issues that they face can lead to serious substance misuse issues and co-occurring mental health disorders.

 

Finding a LGBTQ Rehab

 

Due to the specifics of each individual from the LGBTQI+ community and the issues they face, the requirements for rehab may not be met. Individuals may not be willing to ask for help if they don’t feel the treatment can address their specific issues.

 

There are a growing number of LGBTQ+ rehab centers that can deal with the issues LGBTQ+ community members face. Rehab can address the substance abuse problems individuals face along with recognizing and treating the co-occurring mental health issues that fester.

 

LGBTQ rehab may be a newer concept, but it really shouldn’t. Individuals should get the care they have always deserved without the bias and negative connotations that exist. Thankfully, now individuals can get the help they seek.

 

Getting Sober as a LGBTQ Identifying Person

 

For most, getting sober is a long and difficult process. For LGBTQ people, this process can be especially challenging: they may face additional struggles like discrimination and homophobia. But many still seek help for their addictions because chemical dependency is one of the challenges that everyone has to deal with in life. The staff at LGBTQ rehab centers aims to offer support during all stages of recovery from alcohol and drugs by creating a safe space. At such facilities, you will find psychotherapists who provide individual and group therapy and LGBTQ friendly therapists.

 

As LGBTQ rehab has grown, the LGBTQ community is better represented in counseling and treatment programs. The goal of LGBTQ addiction treatment is to help you recognize not only your addictive behavior but also how it relates to other aspects of your self. Most LGBTQ rehab centers provide a wealth of different services including LGBTQ addiction psychoeducation, group therapies, mindfulness techniques, one-on-one sessions with a counselor or therapist, gender identity support groups, LGBTQ sexuality groups, art classes and physical activities such as yoga or running.

 

LGBTQ Addiction Statistics

 

Chemical dependency in LGBTQ people can lead to a variety of mental health problems in addition to alcohol and drug abuse. In fact, many risk factors for addictions are in LGBTQ people. LGBTQ people are more likely to have issues with depression, anxiety and low self-esteem than the general population. LGBTQ drug statistics show that LGBTQ youth are at a higher risk of experimenting with drugs or alcohol.

LGBTQ Substance Abuse Statistics

 

While chemical dependency can affect anyone, LGBTQ people are more likely to use or abuse drugs and alcohol for different reasons than their heterosexual peers. Some studies indicate that LGBTQ individuals are three times more likely to experience substance dependence than the general population. Other studies show that certain groups of LGBTQ people—gay men in particular—are four times as likely to become addicted compared to their heterosexual counterparts.

 

Chemical dependency is a compulsive need to take drugs or drink despite any negative consequences it brings on an individual’s life, family, friends and career. According to the (Centers for Disease Control), LGBTQ drug abuse statistics indicate that LGBTQ people are more likely to use opioids, ecstasy, sedatives and alcohol than the general population.

 

Dependency is not only an LGBTQ problem but one related to social inequalities. LGBTQ inequality has negative effects on people’s mental health and physical well-being because it limits economic opportunities for them by denying healthcare coverage or employment protection. LGBTQ drug statistics show that just 13 states across the country provide laws prohibiting insurers from excluding based on sexual orientation or gender identity.

 

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Administration (SAMHSA) reports that the LGBTQ community is over-represented in most categories of substance abuse compared to their percentage in the general population. LGBTQ drugs statistics show that 6% of lesbian or gay respondents were classified as having serious psychological distress (SPD). LGBTQ students were 7% more likely to have been forced to have intercourse, and LGBTQ people ages 12-17 years old who had been forced into sexual intercourse reported significantly higher levels of using anti-LGBTQ slurs at school, drinking alcohol and tobacco use compared with LGBTQ youth not involved in such acts.

 

LGBTQ drug statistics show that LGBTQ youth are at a high risk for substance abuse due to increased exposure to environmental stressors. LGBTQ teens may be more vulnerable because LGBTQ students have a greater likelihood of being exposed to drugs or alcohol as a coping mechanism.

 

The need for more LGBTQ treatment centers

 

Uncovering the root of chemical dependency in our society is complex because it involves understanding how social inequalities affect people’s lives and well-being. For example, structural violence is ongoing exposure to domination that prevents people from self-realizing their full potential. LGBTQ individuals are more likely than heterosexuals to experience structural violence due to legalized discrimination against them, harassment and disparities in healthcare coverage, which can lead some of them to turn to substances or other forms of self-destruction or self-medication. These issues may cause LGBTQ individuals to become trapped in addiction.

 

LGBTQ Inequality and Violence

 

The LGBTQ population has a long history of being subjected to discrimination, violence and other harassment even before the AIDS epidemic. The LGBTQ community’s exposure to structural violence leads many LGBTQ people to believe that they are “less than” others, which causes low self-esteem that can lead to negative coping mechanisms such as alcohol or drug abuse.

 

In addition, LGBTQ persons experience high rates of interpersonal violence because their sexual orientation or gender identity is often targeted by perpetrators . According LGBTQ drugs statistics, research shows that same-sex couples suffer higher rates of domestic violence than opposite-sex couples. LGBTQ teens are more likely to experience violence, mistreatment and abuse in high school than their LGBTQ peers. LGBTQ teens who report such violence suffer from trauma that can hinder them from achieving success in . LGBTQ addiction statistics indicate that LGBTQ students experience higher levels of bullying and harassment at school compared to non-LGBTQ students.

 

LGBTQ Addiction and Prevention

 

Addiction is a compulsive, out-of-control dependency on alcohol or drugs when an individual’s use reaches the level when it begins causing harm in their lives, including family problems, financial issues, legal troubles and trouble with work performance due to impaired ability to function. Factors leading LGBTQ people to addiction can be both internal and external challenges related to LGBTQ identity. LGBTQ individuals often experience stressors such as social stigma surrounding their sexual orientation or gender identity that can lead them to use substances or engage in other risky behaviors.

 

LGBTQ Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACES)

 

Early adverse experiences—such as physical, emotional, sexual abuse at home; the loss of a parent through death, divorce or estrangement; parental mental illness; household substance dependence; violence outside the home; and harsh punishment—are risk factors for chemical dependency later on in life . LGBTQ individuals who have a history of childhood sexual abuse are at even greater risk than others to develop an addiction.

 

LGBTQ drug statistics share that LGBTQ people with histories of sexual abuse or physical assault are more likely to use substances, often in high doses. LGBTQ students, especially LGBTQ students of color, who report bullying also may be at higher risk for substance misuse than LGBTQ teens who don’t experience harassment.

 

Previous: Female Only Rehab

Next: What Are The Stages of Rehab

  • 1
    1.R. L. Moody, T. J. Starks, C. Grov and J. T. Parsons, Internalized Homophobia and Drug Use in a National Cohort of Gay and Bisexual Men: Examining Depression, Sexual Anxiety, and Gay Community Attachment as Mediating Factors – PMC, PubMed Central (PMC).; Retrieved September 29, 2022, from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5726951/
  • 2
    2.D. M. Frost and I. H. Meyer, Internalized Homophobia and Relationship Quality among Lesbians, Gay Men, and Bisexuals – PMC, PubMed Central (PMC).; Retrieved September 29, 2022, from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2678796/
Website | + posts

Alexander Stuart is the CEO of Worlds Best Rehab Magazine™ as well as the creator & pioneer behind Remedy Wellbeing Hotels & Retreats. Under his leadership as CEO, Remedy Wellbeing Hotels™ received the accolade of Overall Winner: International Wellness Hotel of the Year 2022 by International Rehabs. Because of his incredible work, the individual luxury hotel retreats are the world’s first $1 million-plus exclusive wellness centers providing an escape for individuals and families requiring absolute discretion such as Celebrities, Sportspeople, Executives, Royalty, Entrepreneurs and those subject to intense media scrutiny.